Boston Nightlife

Boston, Massachusetts may not be a party city, but it is a college town so it has a lot of fun things to do at night. Whether you’re into dancing, live shows or movies, there’s something for everybody in Boston.

The following is an overview of Boston’s nightlife:

Boston Bars:

Cheers, 84 Beacon St, Boston, MA, (617) 227-9605, cheersboston.com

Drink, 348 Congress St, Boston, MA, (617) 695-1806, www.drinkfortpoint.com

Eastern Standard, 528 Commonwealth Avenue, Boston, MA, (617) 532-9100, easternstandardboston.com

JJ Foley’s, 21 Kingston St, Boston, MA, (617) 695-2529, www.jjfoleys.com/menu.html

The Baldwin Bar, 2 Alfred St, Woburn, MA, (781) 935-8488, www.thebaldwinbar.com

Backbar, 7 Sanborn Ct, Somerville, MA, (617) 718-0249, www.backbarunion.com

Green Street, 280 Green St, Cambridge, MA, (617) 876-1655, www.greenstreetgrill.com

The Hawthorne, 500 A Commonwealth Avenue, Boston, MA, (617) 532-9150, www.thehawthornebar.com

Bukowski Tavern, 50 Dalton Street Boston, MA, (617) 437-9999, bukowskitavern.net

Model Cafe, 7 N Beacon St, Boston, MA, (617) 254-9365

The Burren, 247 Elm St, Somerville, MA, (617) 776-6896, www.burren.com

Brick & Mortar, 567 Massachusetts Ave, Cambridge, MA, www.brickmortarltd.com/menus

Wink & Nod, 3 Appleton St, Boston, MA, (617) 482-0117

The Gallows, 1395 Washington St, Boston, MA, (617) 425-0200, www.thegallowsboston.com

Blossom Bar, 295 Washington St, Brookline, MA, (617) 734-1870, www.blossombarbrookline.com

Haley Henry, 45 Province St, Boston, MA, (617) 208-6000, www.haleyhenry.com

Trina’s Starlite Lounge, 3 Beacon St, Somerville, MA, (617) 576-0006, trinastarlitelounge.com

Sevens Ale House, 77 Charles St, Boston, MA, (617) 523-9074

jm Curely, 21 Temple Pl, Boston, MA, (617) 338-5333, boston.eater.com/venue/942/jm-curley

Better Sorts, 90 Tremont St, Boston, MA, (617) 772-5834, bettersortsboston.com

Delux Cafe, 100 Chandler St, Boston, MA, (617) 338-5258

Bully Boy Tasting Room, 44 Cedric St, Boston, MA, (617) 442-6000, www.bullyboydistillers.com

Shore Leave, 11 William E Mullins Way, Boston, MA, (617) 530-1775, www.shoreleaveboston.com

Boston Sports Bars:

The Fours, 166 Canal Street, Boston, MA, 617-720-4455, www.thefours.com/boston

Cask n’ Flagon, 62 Brookline Ave, Boston, MA, (617) 536-4840, casknflagon.com

McGreevy’s Boston, 911 Boylston St, Boston, MA, (617) 262-0911, www.mcgreevysboston.com

Parlor Sports, 1 Beacon St, Somerville, MA, (617) 576-0231, parlorsportsbar.com

Banner’s Kitchen Tap, 82 Causeway St, Boston, MA, (617) 263-8200, www.patinagroup.com/banners

Champions, 110 Huntington Ave, Boston, MA, (617) 927-5304, www.championsboston.com

Tony C’s Sports Bar & Grill, 210 Andover St, Peabody, MA, (978) 326-9500, www.tonycssportsbar.com

Buff’s pub, 317 Washington St, Newton, MA, (617) 332-9134, www.buffspub.com

Bleacher Bar, 82A Lansdowne St, Boston, MA, (617) 262-2424, bleacherbarboston.com

Game On!, 82 Lansdowne St, Boston, MA, (617) 351-7001, gameonboston.com

Stats Bar and Grille, 77 Dorchester St, Boston, MA, (617) 268-9300, www.statsboston.com

Phoenix Landing, 512 Massachusetts Ave, Cambridge, MA, (617) 576-6260, phoenixlandingbar.com

CBS Sporting Club, 200 Patriot Pl, Foxborough, MA, (617) 410-9742, www.cbssportingclub.com

Boston Rooftop Bars:

Lookout Rooftop and Bar, 70 Sleeper St, Boston, MA, (617) 338-3030, outlookkitchenandbar.com/lookout-rooftop-and-bar

Rooftop at Revere, 200 Stuart St, Boston, MA, (617) 482-1800, www.reverehotel.com/eat-drink/rooftop-revere

Legal Harborside, 270 Northern Ave, Boston, MA, (617) 477-2900, www.legalseafoods.com/restaurants/boston-legal-harborside-30

Dorchester Brewing Co, 1250 Massachusetts Ave, Boston, MA, (617) 514-0900, www.dorchesterbrewing.com

Sky Lounge at YOTEL Boston, 65 Seaport Blvd 12th floor, Boston, MA, (617) 377-4747, www.yotel.com/en/hotels/yotel-boston/eat-and-drink

Trellium Brewing Company – Fort Point, 50 Thomson Pl, Boston, MA, (857) 449-0083, www.trilliumbrewing.com/locations/fort-point

Colonnade Hotel Rooftop Pool, 120 Huntington Ave, Boston, MA, (617) 424-7000, www.colonnadehotel.com

Samuel Adams Faneuil Hall Tap Room, 60 State St, Boston, MA, (617) 466-6418, www.samueladams.com/taprooms

Pier 6 Boston Waterfront, 1 8th St, Charlestown, MA, (617) 337-0054, www.pier6boston.com

Daedalus, 45.5 Mt Auburn St, Cambridge, MA, (617) 349-0071

Cunard Tavern, 24 Orleans St, Boston, MA, (617) 567-7609, www.cunardtavern.com

Alba Restaurant, 1486 Hancock St, Quincy, MA, (617) 376-2522, www.allmenus.com/ma/quincy/275546-alba-bar-grill/menu

Ristorante Fiore, 250 Hanover St, Boston, MA, (617) 371-1176, www.ristorantefiore.com

The Sinclair, 52 Church St, Cambridge, MA, (617) 547-5200, www.sinclaircambridge.com

The Baseball Tavern, 1270 Boylston St, Boston, MA, (617) 867-6526, baseballtavern.com

Felipe’s Taqueria, 21 Brattle St, Cambridge, MA, (617) 354-9944, www.felipestaqueria.com

Cityside, 1960 Beacon St, Brighton, MA, (617) 566-1002, www.cityside-tavern.com

Envoy Hotel, 70 Sleeper St, Boston, MA, (617) 338-3030, theenvoyhotel.com

Boston Irish Pubs:

Brendan Behan Pub, 378 Centre St, Jamaica Plain, MA, (617) 522-5386, www.brendanbehanjp.com

The Burren, 247 Elm St, Somerville, MA, (617) 776-6896, www.burren.com

Brendan Behan Pub, 378 Centre St, Jamaica Plain, MA, (617) 522-5386, www.brendanbehanjp.com

Flann O’Brien’s, 1619 Tremont St, Boston, MA, (617) 566-7744, www.flanns.com

The Druid, 1357 Cambridge St, Cambridge, MA, (617) 497-0965, www.druidpub.com

Black Rose, 160 State St, Boston, MA, (617) 742-2286, www.blackroseboston.com

The Field Pub, 20 Prospect St, Cambridge, MA, (617) 354-7345

The Plough and Stars, 912 Massachusetts Ave, Cambridge, MA, (617) 576-0032, www.ploughandstars.com

The Kinsale, 2 Center Plz, Boston, MA, (617) 742-5577, www.classicirish.com

Thirsty Scholar, 70 Beacon St, Somerville, MA, (617) 497-2294, www.thirstyscholarpub.com

Matt Murphy’s, 14 Harvard St, Brookline, MA, (617) 232-0188, www.mattmurphyspub.com

Corrib Pub, 396 Market St, Brighton, MA, (617) 787-0882, www.corribpub.com

The Banshee, 934 Dorchester Ave, Boston, MA, (617) 436-9747, bansheeboston.com/home

Mr Dooley’s, 77 Broad St, Boston, MA, (617) 338-5656, www.mrdooleys.com

Solas, 710 Boylston St, Boston, MA, (617) 933-4803, www.solasboston.com

Boston Wine Bars:

No. 9 Park, 9 Park St Pl, Boston, MA, (617) 742-9991, www.no9park.com

Troquet on South, 107 South St, Boston, MA, (617) 695-9463

Bin 26 Enoteca, 26 Charles St, Boston, MA, (617) 723-5939, bin26.com

BISq, 1071 Cambridge St, Cambridge, MA, (617) 714-3693

haley.henry, 45 Province St, Boston, MA, (617) 208-6000, www.haleyhenry.com

COMB at Craigie on Main, 853 Main Street, Cambridge, MA, 617-497-5511, www.craigieonmain.com/comb

Tasting Counter, 14 Tyler St, Somerville, MA, (617) 299-6362, tastingcounter.com

Bistro du Midi, 272 Boylston St, Boston, MA, (617) 426-7878, bistrodumidi.com

Frenchie, 560 Tremont St, Boston, MA, (857) 233-5941, www.frenchieboston.com

Les Zygomates, 129 South St, Boston, MA, (617) 542-5108, winebar129.com

Spoke Wine Bar, 89 Holland St, Somerville, MA, (617) 718-9463, www.spokewinebar.com

Piattini Wine Cafe, 226 Newbury St, Boston, MA, (617) 536-2020, www.piattini.com

Fromage Wine Bar & Restaurant, 401 W Broadway, Boston, MA, (617) 464-4300, www.fromageboston.com

Boston Gay Bars:

Jacques Cabaret, 79 Broadway, Boston, MA, (617) 426-8902, www.jacques-cabaret.com

The Eagle, 520 Tremont St, Boston, MA, (617) 542-4494

Cathedral Station, 1222 Washington St, Boston, MA, (617) 338-6060, www.cathedralstation.com

Trophy Room, 26 Chandler St, Boston, MA, (617) 482-4428, trophyroomboston.com

Midway Cafe, 3496 Washington St, Boston, MA, (617) 524-9038, midwaycafe.com

The Alley Bar, 14 PI Alley, Boston, MA, (617) 263-1449, thealleybar.com

Boston Nightclubs:

The Grand, 58 Seaport Blvd #300, Boston, MA, (617) 322-0200, thegrandboston.com

Royale, 279 Tremont St, Boston, MA, (617) 338-7699, royaleboston.com

Icon, 100 Warrenton St, Boston, MA, (617) 422-0045, www.iconnightclub.com

Memoire at Encore Boston Harbor, 1 Broadway, Everett, MA, (857) 770-3490, www.encorebostonharbor.com/dining-and-nightlife/bars-and-lounges/memoire

Good Life, 28 Kingston St, Boston, MA, (617) 451-2622, www.goodlifebar.com

Big Night Live, 110 Causeway St, Boston, MA, (617) 896-5222, bignightlive.com

Middlesex Lounge, 315 Massachusetts Ave, Cambridge, MA, (617) 868-6739, www.middlesexlounge.us

Venu, 100 Warrenton St, Boston, MA, (617) 338-8061, www.venuboston.com

Tunnel, 125 Pleasant St, Northampton, MA, (413) 341-3161, www.thetunnelbar.com

Phoenix Landing, 512 Massachusetts Ave, Cambridge, MA, (617) 576-6260, phoenixlandingbar.com

Bijou, 51 Stuart St, Boston, MA, (617) 357-4565, www.bijouboston.com

Beehive, 541 Tremont St, Boston, MA, (617) 423-0069, www.beehiveboston.com/calendar

Cure Lounge, 246 Tremont St, Boston, MA, (617) 695-2250, www.curelounge.com/events

Wonder Bar, 186 Harvard Ave, Allston, MA, (617) 351-2665, www.wonderbarboston.com

Havana Club, 288 Green St, Cambridge, MA, (617) 312-5550, havanaclubsalsa.com

Storyville, 90 Exeter St, Boston, MA, (617) 236-1134

Howl at the Moon, 184 High St, Boston, MA, (617) 292-4695, www.howlatthemoon.com/down-boston/

Boston Gay Nightclubs:

Dbar, 1236 Dorchester Ave, Dorchester, MA, (617) 265-4490, www.dbarboston.com

Club Cafe, 209 Columbus Ave, Boston, MA, (617) 536-0966, www.clubcafe.com

Hong Kong, 65 Chatham St, Boston, MA, (617) 227-2226, hongkongboston.com

Guilt, 79 Warrenton St, Boston, MA, (857) 284-7265

Machine, 1254 Boylston St, Boston, MA, (617) 536-1950, www.machineboston.club/mr/home.asp

Boston Music Venues:

The Middle East, 472-480 Massachusetts Ave, Cambridge, MA, (617) 864-3278, www.mideastoffers.com

Symphony Hall, 301 Massachusetts Ave, Boston, MA, (888) 266-1200, www.bso.org/brands/symphony-hall/tickets-events.aspx

The Sinclair, 52 Church St, Cambridge, MA, (617) 547-5200, www.sinclaircambridge.com

Scullers Jazz Club, 400 Soldiers Field Rd, Boston, MA, (866) 777-8932, scullersjazz.com

Brighton Music Hall, 158 Brighton Ave, Allston, MA, (617) 779-0141, www.musichallbrighton.com

Club Passim, 47 Palmer St, Cambridge, MA, (617) 492-7679, www.passim.org

Rockland Trust Bank Pavilion, 290 Northern Ave, Boston, MA, (617) 728-1600, www.bostonpavilion.net

Berklee Performance Center, 136 Massachusetts Ave, Boston, MA, (617) 747-2261, www.berklee.edu/BPC

Once Somerville, 156 Highland Ave, Somerville, MA, (617) 285-0167, www.oncesomerville.com

Paradise Rock Club, 967 Commonwealth Avenue, Boston, MA, (617) 562-8800, www.paradiserock.club

Royale, 279 Tremont St, Boston, MA, (617) 338-7699, royaleboston.com

Sonia, 10 Brookline St, Cambridge, MA, www.mideastoffers.com/sonia

Orpheum Theatre, 1 Hamilton Pl, Boston, MA, (617) 482-0106, /www.orpheum-theater.com/orpheum_theater_boston.php

The Lilypad, 1353 Cambridge St, Cambridge, MA, www.lilypadinman.com

Great Scott, 1222 Commonwealth Avenue, Allston, MA, (617) 566-9014, www.greatscottboston.com

Regattabar, 1 Bennett St, Cambridge, MA, (617) 661-5000, www.regattabarjazz.com

House of Blues, 15 Lansdowne St, Boston, MA, (888) 693-2583, www.houseofblues.com/boston

O’Brien’s Pub, 3 Harvard Ave, Allston, MA, (617) 782-6245, www.obrienspubboston.com

City Winery, 80 Beverly St, Boston, MA, (617) 933-8047, citywinery.com/boston

Lizard Lounge, 1667 Massachusetts Ave, Cambridge, MA, (617) 547-0759, lizardloungeclub.com

Wally’s Cafe, 427 Massachusetts Ave, Boston, MA, (617) 424-1408, www.wallyscafe.com/index.html

The Cantab Lounge, 738 Massachusetts Ave, Cambridge, MA, (617) 354-2685, cantab-lounge.com

TD Garden, 100 Legends Way, Boston, MA, 617-624-1331, www.tdgarden.com

Midway Cafe, 3496 Washington St, Boston, MA, (617) 524-9038, midwaycafe.com

Loretta’s Last Call, 1 Lansdowne St, Boston, MA, (617) 421-9595, lorettaslastcall.com

Citizens Bank Boston Opera House, 539 Washington St, Boston, MA, www.bostonoperahouse.com

Boston Playhouses & Theaters:

Shubert Theater, 265 Tremont St, Boston, MA, www.bochcenter.org/discover/our-theatres/shubert-theatre/shubert-theatre-landing-page

Boch Center/Wang Theater, 270 Tremont St, Boston, MA, (617) 482-9393, www.bochcenter.org/discover/our-theatres/wang-theatre/wang-theatre-landing-page

The Wilbur Theater, 246 Tremont St, Boston, MA, (617) 248-9700, thewilbur.com

Boston Comedy Clubs:

Laugh Boston, 425 Summer St, Boston, MA, (617) 725-2844, laughboston.com

Nick’s Comedy Shop, 100 Warrenton St, Boston, MA, nickscomedystop.com

Improv Asylum, 216 Hanover St, Boston, MA, (617) 263-6887, www.improvasylum.com

The Comedy Studio, 1 Bow Market Way #23, Somerville, MA, (617) 661-6507, www.thecomedystudio.com

Improv Boston, 40 Prospect St, Cambridge, MA, (617) 576-1253, improvboston.com

Riot Theater Company, 5 Basile St, Boston, MA, (617) 942-0294, www.theriottheater.com

Pour House Comedy, 905 Boylston St, Boston, MA, (617) 236-1767, www.pourhouseboston.com/event/comedy-night

Boston Movie Theaters:

ARCLight Cinemas, 60 Causeway St, Boston, MA, (323) 615-2550, www.arclightcinemas.com

Showplace ICON Theater, 60 Seaport Boulevard, Boston, MA, (857) 444-6677, www.showplaceicon.com/browsing

AMC Boston Common 19, 175 Tremont St, Boston, Ma,

Regal Fenway & RPX, 201 Brookline Ave, Boston, MA, (617) 424-6111,

Loews Theaters Imax, 175 Tremont St, Boston, MA,

Simons Theater, 1 Central Wharf, Boston, MA, (617) 973-5206

Mugar Omni Theater, 1 Museum Of Science Driveway, Boston, MA, (617) 723-2500

AMC South Bay Center 12, 25 District Ave, Dorchester, MA, (617) 606-3219

AMC Assembly Row 12, 395 Artisan Way, Somerville, MA, (617) 440-4192

Coolidge Corner Theater, 290 Harvard St, Brookline, MA, (617) 734-2501, coolidge.org

Landmark Kendall Square Cinema, 355 Binney St, Cambridge, MA, (617) 621-1202, www.landmarktheatres.com/boston/kendall-square-cinema

Somerville Theater, 55 Davis Square, Somerville, MA, somervilletheatre.com

Apple Cinemas Cambridge, 168 Alewife Brook Pkwy, Cambridge, MA, (617) 229-6555, www.applecinemas.com

Capitol Theater, 204 Massachusetts Ave, Arlington, MA, (781) 648-4340, capitoltheatreusa.com

Brattle Theater, 40 Brattle St, Cambridge, MA, (617) 876-6837, www.brattlefilm.org

Regent Theater, 7 Medford St, Arlington, MA, (781) 646-4849, regenttheatre.com

Harvard Film Archive, 24 Quincy St, Cambridge, MA, (617) 495-4700, harvardfilmarchive.org

For more fun things to do in Boston, check out this list of Boston attractions.